Home Island Life Area Information

Area Information

The Charleston region consists of a wide array of diverse areas and islands. Some of the main areas of Charleston, SC, include historic downtown Charleston (Charleston Peninsula), Johns Island, Seabrook Island, Kiawah Island, Wadmalaw Island, James Island, Folly Beach, West Ashley, Mount Pleasant, Sullivans Island, Isle of Palms, Daniel Island, North Charleston, Summerville, and more.

Seabrook Island

Seabrook Island is a welcoming oceanfront community just miles from historic Charleston, South Carolina. Immersed in natural splendor, the private coastal barrier island is home to a lush maritime forest, serene marshes and pristine beaches. Seabrook Island is home to a SIC Audubon Sanctuary Golf Course as well as an Audubon International Certified Sustainable Community.

Surrounding Islands

Johns Island, the largest island in South Carolina and fourth largest island on the East Coast, is west of the Charleston peninsula, and serves as a gateway to its neighboring islands – Kiawah and Seabrook Islands. It is surrounded by the Intracoastal Waterway, the Stono River, the Kiawah River and Bohicket Creek, and is bordered by Kiawah, Seabrook, Wadmalaw, James and Edisto Islands. Kiawah Island is a barrier island with 10 miles of beach, championship golf, and more. It is a private gated community with access limited to property owners and rental guests, and the host site of the 2012 and 2021 PGA Championship. Wadmalaw Island, part of Charleston County, is located primarily to the southwest of Johns Island and more than halfway encircled by it.


Charleston, the oldest and second most populated city in South Carolina, is a top tourist destination and is cited for its beauty, historic charm, array of dining and shopping, livability, and friendliness. The city of Charleston is divided into areas such as downtown, Mount Pleasant, Isle of Palms, James Island, and more.

Close Info Save Share Print
Property-details go here